top of page
  • cleverpunterau

Sha Tin - 21/01/24

Updated: Jan 21

First of the G1's in Hong Kong kicking off tonight and what a card we have.

Lets dig in and see if we can find some winners!


R1 - Beacon Hill Handicap - 1200M - Class 5

2.Nordic Combined - James McDonald

After stepping up in grade last start and running 8/12 he drops back down for his 3rd run at Sha Tin and likewise with James McDonald taking the reigns, I can forgive his last start because he didn't run like he was suited for it. But I'm licking my lips at him returning to 1200M again and getting the barrier to suit. Ideally it would be nice to see him jump fairly good and settle either midfield or off speed because as he showed on in his first win at Happy Valley at the start of the prep he has a solid turn of foot coming from 3rd last to dominate the field. I backed him for that win and I feel his time is now or never.


Danger - All Is Ready

Selections: 2 - 8 - 3 - 1


R2 - Caroline Hill Handicap - 1400M - Class 4

7.Golden Rise - Zac Purton - Best Bet

Been a fan of the John Size gelding since debut, yet to break his maiden but hasn't been disgraced in trying to do so, last start he showed his ability and improvement from previous jumps and wasn't a bad defeat just couldn't catch the winning horse, he grabs every chance this time around with finally a good barrier draw and Zac Purton getting into his well known Hong Kong grove I think we are ready to see his first win here and comes in as my early Best Bet for the meeting.


Danger - River Views

Selections: 7 - 9 - 12 - 6


R3 - Bennet's Hill Handicap - 1200M - Class 3

2.Wunderbar - James McDonald

The first of two Class 3's for the meeting brings back a mouth watering battle of Wunderbar vs Ka Ying Rising - James McDonald vs Zac Purton doesn't get much better than this, their last race was basically a one vs one as they both gapped the field and went head to head Wunderbar just edging by a nose. I cant separate them really but I'm going to stick with Wunderbar as I think Ka Ying Rising may be at a price that isn't worth a bet and gets the harder draw.


Danger - Ka Ying Rising

Selections: 2 - 4 -6 -1


R4 - Cheung Shan Handicap - 1000M - Class 4

12.Speedy Fortune - Zac Purton

With only one win to his name at this track I could still see his potential from his last start at 1000M got one off the rail but had to spend time and energy to round the horses to get clear air and just couldn't stay with the winning horse and ran in 2nd, expecting a better jump and settling to run on for a rail win.


Danger - Fun Elite

Selections: 12 - 3 - 9 - 2


R5 - The Po Leung Kuk Cup - 1400M - Class 4

11.Circuit Nine - Andrea Atzeni - Each Way

Hasn't had a win under the new stable which can be expected. He is coming here the lightest his been in a long time and gets an inform jockey. As long as he jumps well and doesn't get himself bunched up too much in the field I'm happy to make this my first Each Way bet of the night has a win left in him and I see this as a grand chance for him.


Danger - Lucky Planet

Selections: 11 - 14 -8 -2


R6 - Diamond Hill Handicap - 1200M - Class 4

3.Geneva - Hugh Bowman

I'm breaking my rule once again here tonight and backing a debutant again, trials were too hard to ignore and can see why he will most probably start very short which leaves open a lot of value for punters to chase as well, I'm quite comfortable with Bowman being on this horse he has a knack for getting these debut horses to the line first.


Danger - Strathpeffer

Selections: 3 - 14 - 8 -9


R7 - The Stewards Cup - 1600M - Group One

3.Straight Arron - Vincent Ho

The Aussie import had an impressive term last year launching him into featuring in Group races ever since and even getting a Group Three victory, his 3rd attempt at a Group One and on that a smaller field than the previous two, I see it as a huge advantage for him and a jockey with a wealth of experience in it as well, looking to see Arron stalk the battle for speed at the top and make a move from their.


Danger - Voyage Bubble

Selections: 3 - 2 - 5 - 7


R8 - Keung Shan Handicap - 2000M - Class 2

4.C P Brave - James McDonald - Next Best

Ever since C P Brave switched to Ricky Yiu's stable he has featured in all my selections. A lot of work and effort has been put into this boy and its showing now with back to back wins and lets face it if I cant back a horse named C P Brave? what am I even doing here. The horse just has no stop button right now and twice now sweeping and swerving through traffic to take on dominate wins. Gets my Next Best for the night.


Danger - Ensued

Selections: 4 - 5 - 11 - 3


R9 - Tin Wan Shan Handicap - 1400M - Class 2

11.Superb Boy - Alexis Badel - Each Way

Superb Boy features in my selections yet again, I couldn't see any issues with his 2nd place finish last start and gets a great weight claim with Alexis Badel a query with him being up in grade maybe but I'm happy to be on him and see how he goes again here I think his very underrated vs this field of don't get me wrong extremely good horses. I just don't see it being as obvious as it may look, happy to be wrong.


Danger - Global Harmony

Selections: 11 - 10 - 8 -6


R10 - Tsz Wan Shan Handicap - 1400M - Class 3

13.Storm Rider - Zac Purton

We finish off the meeting with a Class 3 and see Storm Rider out for a double, I just love the horses jump outs you would think this was his 10th start when its only his 3rd I like the jump out ability I don't even see the 11 barrier an issue with Purton onboard to steer him into a comfortable spot to settle and the turn of foot at the 400-300M is ridiculously good. Should be starting fav but wont which is good for great odds to bet on.


Danger - The Heir

Selections: 13 - 2 - 11 - 4


Quaddie

Leg 1: 3 - 2 - 5 - 7

Leg 2: 4 - 5 - 11 - 3

Leg 3: 11 - 10 - 8 -6

Leg 4: 13 - 2 - 11 - 4


GL Punters!



390 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page